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South Carolina Business One Stop.

Trucking

Federal
[] Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) irs.gov

State
[] Register your LLC, LLP, or Corporation (SCSOS) - sos.sc.gov
[] Register with the SCOMV for more detailed information or Contact SCOMV @ (803) 896-5000
[] CDL Licensing with DMV - Contact DMV @ (803) 896-5000

Municipal
[ ] County Business License more info
[] City Business License more info

Hiring Employees

Obtain an EIN (IRS) —irs.gov

Register w/E-Verify (report within 3 days of employment) (DHS) — e-verify.gov

Register w/SC New Hire (report within 20 days after employees first day of work) (SCDSS) - newhire.sc.gov
Register with SC Dept of Revenue for Withholding (SCDOR) — dor.sc.gov

Register with SC Dept of Employment & Workforce for Unemployment Insurance (SCDEW) — dew.sc.gov
Order or Print employment workplace posters (LLR) — lIr.state.sc.us

Obtain Workers Compensation Insurance (if required, click here for more info)

Doooddg

Other Considerations

Do drivers need a Commercial Driver’s License CDL?

The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) contracted by the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides the standard in which each state is to test commercial
drivers.

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles administers the CDL Testing System commercial
licensing standards required by FMCSA. More info can be found here

Class A Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001
pounds or more provided the GVWR of the vehicle being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds. May
also operate a three-wheel vehicle (excluding a two-wheel motorcycle with a side car).

Class B Any single unit vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more, or any such vehicle towing a
vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. May also operate a three-wheel vehicle (excluding a
two-wheel motorcycle with a side car).

Disclaimer
This industry guide is shared you as-is with no guarantees, expressed or implied, of accuracy or relevance. The guide provides a starting point or
general overview but is not a substitute for performing requirements research and due diligence on your own.


https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
https://businessfilings.sc.gov/businessfiling
http://www.scdmvonline.com/Business-Customers/Motor-Carriers
http://www.scdmvonline.com/Driver-Services/Commercial-Licenses
https://scbos.sc.gov/Pages/County.aspx
https://scbos.sc.gov/Pages/Cityoffices.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
https://www.e-verify.gov/
https://newhire.sc.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/tax/withholding
https://dew.sc.gov/employers/suits
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/aboutus/index.asp?file=Posters.htm
http://www.wcc.sc.gov/Pages/FAQEmployers.aspx
http://scdmvonline.com/Driver-Services/Commercial-Licenses/Testing
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Class C Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that are not Class A or B vehicles, but either
designed to transport sixteen or more passengers including the driver, or is used in the transportation
of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act
and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49
CFR part 172, subpart F). May also operate a three-wheel vehicle (excluding a two-wheel motorcycle
with a side car).

South Carolina Code of Laws, Section 56-1-2030, Item 16, defines gross vehicle weight rating as:

Gross vehicle weight rating means the weight or the value specified by the manufacturer as the
maximum loaded weight of a single or a combination vehicle. The gross vehicle weight rating of a
combination vehicle (referred to as gross combination weight rating) is the gross vehicle weight rating
of the power unit plus the gross vehicle weight rating of the towed.

The Medical Certification Requirements Form DL-405A can be obtained from the scdmvonline.com
Do drivers need a USDOT Number?

Apart from federal regulations, South Carolina requires commercial motor vehicle registrants to
obtain a USDOT Number.

You are required to obtain a USDOT number if you have a vehicle that:

¢ Is used to transport the types and quantities of hazardous materials requiring a safety permit in
intrastate commerce (see 49 CFR 385.403).

OR

* Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or gross
combination weight, of 4,536 kg (10,001 pounds) or more, whichever is greater; or

¢ |s designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation; or

¢ |s designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, and is not used to
transport passengers for compensation

You can register for a USDOT Number here.

Disclaimer
This industry guide is shared you as-is with no guarantees, expressed or implied, of accuracy or relevance. The guide provides a starting point or
general overview but is not a substitute for performing requirements research and due diligence on your own.


https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration
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Do I need to file a Motor Carrier Property Tax Return?

Motor Carrier Property Tax is a tax on vehicles with a GVW greater than 26,000 pounds and buses for
hire registered with a BC tag designed to carry 16 or more passengers including the driver. A PT-441
should be filed and no less than half of the tax due paid no later than June 30 on vehicles owned
December 31 of the preceding year, whether the vehicle is in use or not.

What is IFTA?

The International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is a base state fuel tax agreement. Any person based in
a member jurisdiction and operating a qualified motor vehicle(s) in two or more member jurisdictions
is required to license under this agreement or purchase fuel trip permits for travel in member
jurisdictions.

Once the SCDMV's Motor Carrier Services receives your completed Application for International Fuel
Tax Agreement Credentials (SCDMV Form IFTA-1), your IFTA license and decals will be issued. This
allows you to travel in all IFTA member jurisdictions.

You may find more information with the SCOMV

Do | need to apply for an International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) License?

Any motor carrier whose base jurisdiction is South Carolina and operates one or more qualified motor
vehicles in at least one other International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) member jurisdiction, must apply
for South Carolina IFTA credentials or fuel trip permits must be obtained to travel through member
jurisdictions, according to the regulations of each member jurisdiction.

For a license, complete the IFTA Application (SCDMV Form IFTA-1). The application requests basic
information about you. The application does not require vehicle descriptions. However, the SCODMV
reserves the right to request the description of the vehicle before any application is processed. The
description must be kept on file at your business.

You may mail your completed IFTA Application (SCDMV Form IFTA-1) to Motor Carrier Services (MCS)
at the address below:

SCDMV

Motor Carrier Services

PO Box 1498

Blythewood, SC 29016-1498

Do | need to file Heavy Use Tax IRS Form 2290 related to the heavy use of U.S. roads?
More information can be found here

Do | need to file a BOC-3 filing with FMICSA related to designation of persons upon whom process may
be served are prescribed at 49 CFR 3667
Information can be found here

Disclaimer
This industry guide is shared you as-is with no guarantees, expressed or implied, of accuracy or relevance. The guide provides a starting point or
general overview but is not a substitute for performing requirements research and due diligence on your own.


http://scdmvonline.com/Business-Customers/Motor-Carriers
http://www.scdmvonline.com/Business-Customers/Motor-Carriers/International-Fuel-Tax-Agreement/IFTA-Licensing-and-Renewals
http://www.scdmvonline.com/Business-Customers/Motor-Carriers/International-Fuel-Tax-Agreement/IFTA-Licensing-and-Renewals
https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-2290
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/form-boc-3-designation-agents-service-process

